Home::   States of India

States of India


Geographically ranked as 7th in the world, India is administratively divided into 28 states and 7 union territories. With an area of 342,269 sq km, Rajasthan is the largest state and Goa, which has 3,702 sq km area, is the smallest state of India. On the other hand, with 199,581,477 populations, Uttar Pradesh is the most populated state of India and Sikkim, which has 607,688 is the least populated state of India.

Furthermore, for the administrative purpose, all the states and union territories are grouped into the following five zones and one North-Eastern Council (NEC); it has an Advisory Council that develops habit of co-operative working among these states:

The Northern Zonal Council: It consists of the states Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, National Capital Territory of Delhi and Union Territory of Chandigarh.

The Central Zonal Council: It consists of the states Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.

The Eastern Zonal Council: It consists of the states Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, Sikkim and West Bengal.

The Western Zonal Council: It consists of the state Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra and the Union Territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.

The Southern Zonal Council: It consists of the states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and the Union Territory of Pondicherry. &

The North-Eastern Council (NEC): It consists of the states Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, Meghalaya and Nagaland.

State Wise Tours In each state we have listed state wise tours to give you an idea of available tours in each state and important tourist places. However, all listed tours are only suggestions and can be modified or combined with tours in other states. Do write us with your interest and our expert will get back to you with best possible Holiday itinerary to suite your interest.

Book Now

List of States in India: