Home:: States of India::   Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Located in the western part of India, Dadra and Nagar Haveli is one of the Union Territories of India. With its capital at Silvassa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli covers about 491 square km, wedged between Maharashtra to the south and Gujarat to the north. The territory was former colony of Portuguese and librated during August 2, 1954; however, finally in the year 1961, it became the Union Territory of India.

Book Now

Primarily, the Portuguese signed a treaty ‘Friendship Treaty’ on 17th of December, 1779, as per this treaty Portuguese taken this region as compensation against the damage to the Portuguese frigate by Maratha Navy. Further, they were purchased Dadra. And, since that time, Portuguese governed the region until 1954.

Located on the western coast of India, the territory has two distinct geographical regions i.e. Dadra and Nagar Haveli. Its topography especially of northern region is hilly terrain, which is surrounded by Sahyadri Mountains. However, the central part is a plain area. The major river is Damanganga.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli Tourism

The small region has also some points that fascinate tourists such as:

Vanganga Lake Garden: It is a beautiful garden located in Dadra.

Hirwavan Garden: Located in Piparia, Silvassa, it is popular for tribal deity ‘Hirwa’ the green goddess.

Tribal Museum: Located in Silvassa, it has great collections of tribal ornaments, musical instruments, agricultural and house hold stuffs, fishing and hunting gadgets and many more. Besides, there are also photographs and paintings that show the life of tribal people.

Water Sports Centre: Located in Dudhani, it is popular water sport centre where people love to pass their time.

Back to More States

Book Now